Tags

, , , ,

Howdy.  I’m Cody.

I don’t know about you folks, but I’ve always found introductions to be difficult, sometimes tedious. I’ve never been much for small talk; it’s something I’ve had to learn (and to wit, eventually I’ll post an article on how to manage small talk, as it is an essential aspect of day-to-day interactions, and most first dates consist nearly entirely of it.)

I live in a small town in Central Arizona, having relocated here after a two-year stint at Holy Cross Hellenic College. The nearest Orthodox parish is about an hour away, and has, per capita, the smallest number of datable singles available: one. (I’m the only unmarried person in my entire age group). Instead of bemoaning this fact, I’ve decided to be proactive and use this opportunity as an exercise in self-improvement; to become an Orthodox Christian Gentleman. This blog is the result of a work-in-progress, so that you can join in this endeavor.

You see, being a gentleman can be described in the same manner as salvation within the Orthodox Church: One is a gentleman, one is becoming a gentleman, one will become a gentleman. It is a process that never end, and requires constant work. It is a constant transfiguration of the self.

What will this blog be about? It will be about how to slowly transfigure yourself into a gentleman, which is a process which will only increase your chances for a lovely companion—and if it doesn’t, at worst, you can become a better person (which, while a painful process, is a good end in and of itself.). It’s part advice, part Orthodox Art of Manliness, and part survival guide. Together, we shall all become true gentlemen.

What this blog isn’t about? Woman-bashing. I do not tolerate misogyny. There shall be none of those shenanigans here, and anyone who makes a comment in that mode will be anathematized, so to speak. It is also decidedly NOT about getting laid, and I suggest to you that if you’re looking to be married purely for that reason, that you seriously consider finding other reasons, because that is NOT what marriage is about.

So, I bid you: Welcome.  Stay a while.  I’ll pour you some Syrah.  And please, let me know what you’d like to talk about.  I have a few ideas, but… I’m not you guys.

